Diaspora : Bharatvanshi Gaurav Samman


Nominations are invited for the Bharatvanshi Gaurav Samman from eminent personalities and organizations of Indian Diaspora by Antar-Rashtriya Sahayog Nyas (Trust for International Co-operation). The Award carries Rs. One Lakh in cash, a citation, a plaque and a shawl. The nominations along with detailed bio-data are to reach the Nyas Office at ‘Pravasi Bhawan’, 50-Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg, New Delhi – 110002 latest by 15th October, 2009. 

The Antar-Rashtriya Sahayog Nyas was created with the objective of maintaining close contacts with the Indian Diaspora and to acknowledge and appreciate their achievements by publicly honouring at least one person every year to be selected for excellence for working for the Indian Diaspora, a press statement issued by ARSN Founder Chairman Baleshwar Agrawal said.
The Nyas honoured Shri Ranjith Ramnarain of South Africa in 2005, Shri Satnarayan Maharaj of Trinidad & Tobago in the year 2006, Dr. Thomas Abraham of United States in January, 2008 and Human Service Trust, Mauritius for outstanding work for the people of Indian origin in January, 2009 at New Delhi for their contribution to the Diaspora.

The Selection Committee includes prominent members of the Indian Diaspora such as Sir Aneroodh Jagnauth, President of the Mauritius Republic, Shri Mahendra Choudhry, former Prime Minister of Fiji, Shri Basdeo Pandey, former Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago, Dr. Ved P. Nanda, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Denver University, USA, Shri Subhash Chandra, Chairman & Managing Director Zee Telefilms Ltd., and Shri R. P. N. Singh, Chairman S. S. R. Medical College, Mauritius. Shri J. C. Sharma, former Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs is the President of the Nyas.

August 2009

click here to enlarge

 >> Cover Story
 >> From the Editor
 >> Mail From Reader