February 2015 \ Cover Story \ COVER STORY—PBD 2015 GANDHINAGAR
Pravasis Honoured

  • (Top) The Vice President, Mr Mohd. Hamid Ansari with the awardees at the Valedictory Session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas 2015, in Gandhinagar, Gujarat on January 09, 2015. The Governor of Gujarat, Mr O.P. Kohli, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Ms Anandiben Patel, the Union Minister for External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs, Ms Sushma Swaraj and the Minister of State for Statistics and Programme Implementation (I/C), External Affairs and Overseas Indian Affairs, General (Retd.) V.K. Sing

The list of 15 diaspora members honoured with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman on January 9, 2015 includes a president, politicians, prominent businesspersons and scientists who have all worked for the Indian diaspora community in their respective countries.

Vice President Hamid Ansari gave away the Samman, the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians, aduring the valedictory function of the 13th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas on January 9, 2015 at the Mahatma Mandir convention centre.

Those recipients of the Samman, the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians, were Guyanese President Donald Rabindernauth Ramaotar; Mala Mehta from Australia; Kamaljeet Bakshi from New Zealand; Ashraf Palarakunnummal and Bharatkumar Jayantilal Shah from UAE; Essop Esoop Goolam from South Africa; Rajmal M. Parakh from Oman; Justice Doraikannu Karunakaran from Seychelles; Sanjaya Rajaram from Mexico; Lord Raj Loomba and Nathu Ram Puri from Britain; Mahendra Nanji Mehta from Uganda and Nandini Tandon and Kamlesh Lulla from the US.