December 2014 \ Cover Story \ Cover Story - Elections in Mauritius

By Sayantan Chakravarty
  • BACK AS PM: Sir Anerood Jugnauth

Even as he takes up his role as Prime Minister for the 6th time, Mr Aneerod Jugnauth is already the longest serving PM in the history of independent Mauritius. During his last term he went past the record of 14 years (as PM) set by Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, also hailed as the Father of the Nation. Mr Jugnauth has been PM for 16 years in the past, starting 1982 and until 2003. Add to this his 9 years as President of Mauritius (between 2003 and 2012), and you have one of modern day’s most enduring political figures, a giant leader that the people and voters of Mauritius have accepted for well over three decades.

Mr Jugnauth was appointed PM on December 15 by President Rajkeswur Purryag, having swept the polls a week earlier when the Alliance Lepep that he led won 47 of 62 contested seats. The coalition of Mr Ramgoolam’s Labour Party and Mr Paul Berenger’s Mauritian Militant Movement that went to the polls seeking more powers for the president, managed to secure 13 seats. The Alliance Lepep is a coalition led by the Mouvement Socialiste Militant (MSM) of Mr Jugnauth. Other parties include Parti Mauricien Social Democrate (PMSD) and the Muvman Liberater (ML).

Tags: Mauritius, PIO